Reflection: Everyone Has an Expiration Date

Photo Credit: flickr.com
Photo Credit: flickr.com

Yesterday, these words; “Life…..a treasured gift never to be taken for granted. For, each one of us has an expiration date.” by Kim Gosselin on her blog, got me reflecting on the number of minutes, hours, days, months, and years I take for granted. There are so many things I should do that I don’t do, I push them forward, telling myself I can do them later, maybe tomorrow, or there is still time, no need to rush and so on.

As I look around me, I see a lot of people living life the way I do, always thinking there still time, or we still have many years ahead of us. And with this mentality, we take things for granted, and don’t cherish some moments, or gifts life gives us. Everyone is on the move always working, always doing, always gathering….Saving for the future, planning for the future, yet our lives will end, as everyday draws us closer to that expiration date!

Are you satisfied with the life you are living? Would you honestly say you are living your dreams this moment? Take a moment and reflect like I did…there isn’t so much time. You see unlike consumer products that have their expiry dates clearly written out for all to see, ours isn’t specified.  Just as Christ showed us in the parable of the rich fool, you can be called up any moment;

And he told them this parable: The ground of a certain rich man yielded an abundant harvest. He thought to himself, ‘What shall I do? I have no place to store my crops. Then he said, ‘This is what I’ll do. I will tear down my barns and build bigger ones, and there I will store my surplus grain. And I’ll say to myself, “You have plenty of grain laid up for many years. Take life easy; eat, drink and be merry.” But God said to him, ‘You fool! This very night your life will be demanded from you. Then who will get what you have prepared for yourself?’ – Luke 12: 16-20

Death is something every one of us will face, even though many of us don’t like thinking about it, or pretend to not be aware. Just remember that “Life is a treasured gift, never to be taken for granted…” Live your greatest life…everyday!

3 thoughts on “Reflection: Everyone Has an Expiration Date”

Please share your thoughts

