Be Content Whatever The Circumstance

There is a fable about a king who went to his garden one morning, only to find everything withered and dying. He asked the oak tree that stood near the gate what the trouble was. The oak said it was tired of life and determined to die because it was not tall and beautiful like the pine tree. The pine was troubled because it could not bear grapes like the grapevine. The grapevine was determined to throw its life away because it could not stand erect and produce fruit as large as peaches. The geranium was fretting because it was not tall and fragrant like the lilac.

And so it went throughout the garden. Yet coming to a violet, the king found its face as bright and happy as ever and said, “Well, violet, I’m glad to find one brave little flower in the midst of this discouragement. You don’t seem to be the least disheartened.”The violet responded, “No, I’m not. I know I’m small, yet I thought if you wanted an oak or a pine or a peach tree or even a lilac, you would have planted one. Since I knew you wanted a violet, I’m determined to be the best little violet I can be.”

One of the greatest causes of unhappiness in life is trying to be like others, or allowing others to determine how we live our lives. People who are living their greatest lives are people who have learned to be content in whatever circumstances they find themselves. They don’t allow the things they lack to affect their gratitude for the ones they have now.

Folks we must all strive to adopt the attitude of the “violet”; to always be positive in the midst of the negative environments we find ourselves; to always love ourselves, despite our flaws. The scripture says, when we seek we shall find. Many of us are always seeking for the negatives, the flaws, the excuses, and we find them in abundance. If we shift our focus and try to seek for the good, the blessings, the gold in us, we shall also find tons of them…so it is possible to be happy every day.

Be determined that no matter what others have achieved, and what talents others may have, you are going to be the best you can be. You are going to do your own part in this world, however small your efforts may seem. When you are feeling down, count your blessings, and like an old song lyrics, “count your blessings…name them one by one, and it will surprise you what God has done” for you. Live your greatest life!

12 thoughts on “Be Content Whatever The Circumstance”

  1. Very well put. If we think the grass is greener on the other side of the fence, we should care for and water our grass alowing it to become greener. Great post.

    Like

  2. I agree with the idea here, but must stress that I believe it’s important to continue growing no matter what a person’s idea regarding success is. I strive to appreciate who I am and what I have now, but never allow myself to stop growing – not because I’m comparing myself with others, but rather because I’m comparing myself with who I can be.

    Like

  3. Reblogged this on studiotj and commented:
    This gentleman liked the post that I posted earlier today and I went to his blog only to find something WONDERFUL. The most apropos thing about this post is that I was just having a conversation with a friend about the same topic less than an hour ago. Some would call that spiritual confirmation. At any rate, check out this post and be content!

    Like

  4. Wow! Thanks again Vincent . . . everything stated in your post is so very true. I do not concern myself with how much others have, what kind of car they’re driving, what kind of house they live in or how much money they have . . . I am happy for them and all their blessings, but I try to maintain my focus on how to better myself and make my life how I need and want it to be. The first step to receiving all of God’s blessings, is to be happy for the fortune of others rather than being envious or covetous. Once we can appreciate the blessings of others without jealousy and spite in our hearts, only then will our blessings stored in Heaven will be released to us.

    Like

Please share your thoughts

