What Vision do You Hold of Yourself?

Photo Credit: flickr.com
Photo Credit: flickr.com

One of my favourite scriptures says, God grants the desires of our hearts. But unfortunately, I have come to realize that most of us don’t have our desires clearly pictured in our minds. And when we did, we don’t hold it long enough in our minds.

If you don’t know what you want in life, people are going to hand you what they think is best for you, and most times what they will give you will be far smaller, far more inferior to what you truly deserve. I remember the few times I went shopping without having a clear picture of what I wanted to buy. And each time, the shop attendants asked me what I wanted, I replied “I don’t know exactly” and they will go on to offer to help.

By helping, they will show me products they thought were good for me. Sometimes they end up selling to me a product they’ve carried for a long time, for which they’ve been having a hard time selling. – But that’s life when you don’t know what you want.

Folks the bible says without vision the people perish. – Without having a clear mental picture of what you desire or want from life, you will be overcome by the high level of negativity around. You see every day we are bombarded by doubts, scorn, and ridicule from people who don’t believe in us. It takes looking at your vision of your future to face this negativity.

For some of us, the question isn’t about whether we have a vision or a mental picture of our lives, but rather what type of picture of you are you holding? When you look at your life, what do you see? The answer could be found by taking a look at your results. I have discovered that the majority of us hold a poor mental image of ourselves.

The picture we hold of ourselves is always that of the past. When we think about ourselves, all we see is our inadequacies, our failings, our lack, and so on. Our dreams are always small. Therefore our achievements reflecting our mental pictures are always small compared with our true capabilities.

Folks it’s time to change how we see ourselves. You can never become big if you are always seeing yourself small. God has great thoughts about you, but you are withholding them from coming to pass in your life by thinking too low of yourself. It’s time to get your dreams right.

Hold a bigger picture of yourself. See yourself getting married to an amazing man/woman and raising wonderful kids if that’s your desire. See yourself going back to school and completing your degree. See yourself holding a big position in your organization. See yourself being applauded and recognized for the great work you are doing. See yourself living a great life.

Remember it costs nothing to dream and imagine great things. All it takes is time – which you have been wasting thinking and dreaming small all this while. Live your greatest life!

6 thoughts on “What Vision do You Hold of Yourself?”

    1. Yes, Jane they are actually. All through the scriptures you find that everyone God used, who ever succeeded had to apply those techniques. Thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts here. Blessings.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. “You can never become big if you are always seeing yourself small.” This is so true of me! Just this morning God was reminding me to dare dreaming of more… God promises us that He is “who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine”, Eph 3:20

    Like

  2. This is so true! Several years ago, I tried to be cynical about ever finding a husband again. But I realized it was a natural thing to want. I imagined feeling wonderful and loved by some one who would be good for me, and, at the same time, I turned this desire over to God. God was working on me and my high school sweet heart to make us ready to meet again when the time is right. It took our cooperation for God’s plan to work out. I just need to remember to let this process continue in other areas of my life. Thanks for reminding me!

    Like

Please share your thoughts

