Tired of Doing Good?

Tired of doing good and not being appreciated? I have had people tell me they don’t think they will help people anymore, because in spite of the good they do people don’t appreciate them, all they receive in return is criticism, “no thank yous” and so on.

While it is hurting to do good and not feel appreciated, it shouldn’t stop us from continuing our good works. The world may not see it and recognize it, but God sees everything and rewards everything. Do you want to stop doing good because it seems no one ever does same to you? Friends keep up is all I can say to you.

In the gospel of Mark, we find the parable of the Sower shared by Christ. Christ shared a story of a farmer that when to sow seeds, while he was casting his seeds, some fell by the road side and birds picked them up, some fell on rocky grounds, and when they grew they were over exposed to sun heat and the little plants died, others fell among thorns, and the thorns choked them so even though they grew, they couldn’t bear seeds. But the farmer being not discouraged, kept planting and finally some seeds fell on good grounds, these seeds germinated, grew and bore fruits, and he had a good harvest.

Let’s look at this farmer, he never stopped planting in spite of the fact that the seeds weren’t producing, he kept on, until he had rewards from seeds that fell on a good soil. Think about this, had the farmer, being discouraged as his efforts weren’t producing then stopped, would he had harvested anything? NO!

Friends lets be like this farmer. Though we are not being appreciated by our work; though nobody calls us to say thank you for what you do to me; though nobody returns our favour….let’s keep doing our work with joy and gladness, knowing that one day we will reap our rewards, like that farmer, in thirty, sixty and hundred fold. Our rewards may not be from the people we are doing good to today, but certainly it will come! Live your greatest life!

4 thoughts on “Tired of Doing Good?”

  1. That was a great post. I know if we wait for praise from the world, we will miss out on the best blessings. I know over the years, I have been blessed in so many ways, I can not name them outloud. They are so sacred, and when my medical doctor (who is not a member of my same faith) comes to visit me, he seems shocked that I am still alive and doing so much better, without all those drugs others keep trying to push on me. Even my eye doctor says, “You are the most unusual patient I have.” Again, I must chuckle. I know it is the work of the Lord. I know the Lord has healed others and not just me. Nonetheless, I am grateful to have eyes to see again, hands that work for good, and a body without cancer.

    I might not be as the rest of the world, but that’s okay. I know whom I follow, and He even raises the dead back to life. Isn’t it great to know that God is our Eternal Heavenly Father, and He loves each of us personally. He even knows our names. Now that is love. After all the galaxies He has created, all the planets, stars, plant life, animals, and humans, He knows each of us by name. Phew. Overwhelming at times when you think about it, isn’t it?

    Thank you again, for the encouragement you show to so many. Hugs from a distance.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Thank you for this! This is such an encouraging post for someone to read who is working on anything to better themselves whether fitness, starting a business, eating better Etc. So relatable to many people. 👍🏼

    Like

Please share your thoughts

