There’s Always Something to Be Thankful For

Photo Credit: flickr.com
Photo Credit: flickr.com

One of the best things I learned as a Child of God is giving thanks to God for all things and in every situation whether it is positive or negative. But I have discovered that for most people thanking God for the good things is so easy. When good things happen to you, when good times come, you rejoice and celebrate, but that seldom is the case when you are hit by adversity or some misfortune.

A guy once said to me once, “why should I rejoice and be thankful when bad things happen to me? I ought to be sad, and complaining, so that maybe I can get help somehow.” Unfortunately he isn’t alone with that mindset, because that’s just what most people do; they cry, whine, talk or complain about their adversities and setbacks.

One of my favourite scriptures says, “all things work together for good to them that love God.” No matter how bad I am hit by difficulties and adversity, I believe that in the end something good will come out of the situation. Secondly, from experience I know that things don’t always end up as bad as they seem at first. Sometimes we react based on the information we receive, only to realize later that it wasn’t as terrible as it was reported.

Friends, “when adversity overtakes you, it pays to be thankful it was not worse instead of worrying over your misfortune.” No matter how devastated we are because of some sad occurrence, let’s learn to give thanks to God, because it could have been worse.

One thought on “There’s Always Something to Be Thankful For”

Please share your thoughts

