Always Get the Best of People

Photo Credit: flickr.com

Learn to take advantage of your neighbours, friends, relatives and associates, and get the best of them. Now, don’t be shocked. Let me explain. In every respectable person you know there are desirable traits of character. In every loving friend, there are qualities that you need.

Our associations influence us whether we believe it or not. And the late Jim Rohn said, and this has been widely proven by the way, “we are the average of the five people we spend the most time with.”

Take advantage of your associations with these good people, select the best there is in their natures, and embody their virtues in yourself. Never mind their faults. You have enough of your own. You will find what you are looking for. You will embody what you recognize and admire; therefore look for the elements of success and admire and cherish the virtues of your friends.

Last week I was with a group of people, and while I was sharing some ideas with them, someone moved next to me and said, “Vincent I know you are an inspirational speaker and you always encourage people to stay positive and all, but I am going to watch you. I live close to you. I am going to find all your weak points and detect your meanness.”

And I said to him, “Alright my friend. I am going to watch you too. I hope to discover your strong points; the secret of your success, and your elements of goodness.”

Folks we each find what we look for, with the result that he embodies the worst of me, and weakens himself. I embody the best of him and add to my character. What about you, what have you been watching out for to pick from your friends and associates?

Too many people are like that friend I just told you about, they look for the negative traits in others; anger, jealousy, lousiness, bigotry, carelessness, drunkenness, hate, envy, lies, wastefulness, etc and embody those traits. Any wonder the world is so filled with negative, low energy, low-achieving people.

Take a look at your life. Who do you sound like? Your new behaviours and attitude, where did you pick them from? What do you embody from your friends? Is it okay? Will it help you be the best you can be?

Live your greatest life!

Please share your thoughts

